Muse have just dropped their brand new single ‘Compliance‘, as well as announcing details about their upcoming ninth album ‘Will Of The People‘.

The alternative rock trio, originally from Teignmouth, Devon released ‘Compliance’ yesterday via YouTube (March 18). According to vocalist Matt Bellamy, the song ‘(Compliance) is about submission to authoritarian rules and reassuring untruths to be accepted to an in-group. Gangs, governments, demagogues, social media algorithms and religions seduce us during times of vulnerability, creating arbitrary rules and distorted ideas for us to comply with. They sell us comforting myths, telling us only they can explain reality while simultaneously diminishing our freedom, autonomy and independent thought. We are not just coerced, we are herded, frightened and corralled to produce a daily ‘2 minutes of hate’ against an out-group of their choosing and to turn a blind eye to our own internal voice of reason and compassion. They just need our Compliance.’

This is the second single to be released from their upcoming ninth album ‘Will Of The People‘, following ‘Won’t Stand Down‘ in January. ‘Will Of The People‘ is expected for release on August 26, 2022 via Helium 3/Warner Records. This is the first album from Muse since ‘Simulation Theory‘ in late 2018.

Listen to ‘Compliance‘ below!

‘Will Of The People’ is set to contain a total of 10 tracks. Bellamy states that the album is about the current, depressing times in today’s society; ‘Will Of The People’ was ‘created in Los Angeles and London and is influenced by the increasing uncertainty and instability in the world.’

‘A pandemic, new wars in Europe, massive protests and riots, an attempted insurrection, Western democracy wavering, rising authoritarianism, wildfires and natural disasters and the destabilisation of the global order all informed Will Of The People. It has been a worrying and scary time for all of us as the Western empire and the natural world, which have cradled us for so long are genuinely threatened. This album is a personal navigation through those fears and preparation for what comes next.’

Muse have also revealed the official track listing and artwork for ‘Will Of The People’. Check them out below!

  1. Will Of The People
  2. Compliance
  3. Liberation
  4. Won’t Stand Down
  5. Ghosts (How Can I Move On)
  6. You Make Me Feel Like It’s Halloween
  7. Kill Or Be Killed
  8. Verona
  9. Euphoria
  10. We Are Fucking Fucked

Muse are also set to perform at a handful of festivals this summer, including the likes of Rock AM Ring, Nova Rock, Isle Of Wight and VOLT.

‘Will Of The People’ is available to pre-order here!

Fan of Muse? Read more about them here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.