Simple Plan have just released their most recent track ‘Congratulations’. They have also revealed details about their upcoming sixth studio album ‘Harder Than It Looks‘.

The Montreal pop-punkers dropped ‘Congratulations’ yesterday (March 16). It appears to speak lyrically about a past lover and how karma will come back to get them; with vocalist Pierre Bouvier singing in the chorus; ‘Congratulations / I hope you’re happy now / With the little that you got / Was it worth it? / But just remember / That what goes up comes down / It’s a long fall from the top / Congratulations / Congratulations.’

This is the third taster of what is to come on Simple Plan’s upcoming sixth studio album ‘Harder Than It Looks‘, following ‘The Antidote‘ and ‘Ruin My Life‘ featuring Sum 41’s Deryck Whibley, due for release on May 6. ‘Harder Than It Looks’ is the first album release for the band since 2016’s ‘Taking One For The Team‘.

Listen to ‘Congratulations‘ below!

Harder Than It Looks‘ has been revealed to contain a total of 10 tracks and was produced by past collaborators Brian Howes and Jason Van Poederooyen (who have previously worked with Simple Plan on their 2011 album ‘Get Your Heart On!’), as well as Zakk Cervini (best known for his involvement with Blink-182 and Good Charlotte). ‘Harder Than It Looks’ is primarily focused on getting through hard times, whilst still having an overall fun and light-hearted energy. Bouvier even got his first producer credit for this record. Drummer Chuck Comeau said; ‘No one is ever going to care more about the band than we do.’

Bouvier continued on to say; ‘Throughout our career, it’s taken a while to be mature enough to understand that our sound is an asset, not a liability. On this album we said: ‘Let’s just embrace who we are not be afraid to do what we do best.’ Making a good Simple Plan record is just as hard as making something off the beaten path.’

‘We’re incredibly excited to finally share this news with our fans who have waited so patiently for this album. We poured our hearts and souls into these new songs and we’re so proud of this record.’

‘More than 20 years into our career, we love being in this band more than ever and still have the same passion for playing music and writing songs together that we’ve had since day one. We made a classic, quintessential Simple Plan record that our fans will absolutely love and it was amazing to go back to our roots and unapologetically embrace what has made this band special to so many people: fun, catchy, honest and emotional songs that will make you feel less alone, put a smile on your face and give you hope. We truly can’t wait for the world to hear these new songs and to play them live everywhere.’

They have also released the official artwork and track listing for the album, which you can check out below!

  1. Wake Me Up (When This Nightmare’s Over)
  2. Ruin My Life (feat. Deryck Whibley)
  3. The Antidote
  4. A Million Pictures Of You
  5. Anxiety
  6. Congratulations
  7. Iconic
  8. Best Day Of My Life
  9. Slow Motion
  10. Two

Simple Plan are also set to go out with Sum 41 on the ‘Blame Canada’ tour, celebrating the band’s 20th anniversary of their debut album ‘No Pads, No Helmets… Just Balls.’ It is due to begin in Raleigh, North Carolina on April 29, before ceasing in Denver, Colorado on August 18. Get your tickets here!

Comeau spoke of the band’s 20 year success; ‘We feel so lucky to be a band with fans who love our old and new material. We’re very proud of our past, but we’re even more excited about the future. We’re still ambitious, driven and curious to see what the next 20 years will bring. We truly always feel we’re 3 minutes away from the best or biggest song of our career.’

‘Harder Than It Looks’ is now available to pre-order here!

Fan of Simple Plan? Read more about them here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.